Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

Getting up on the Right Side of the Bed

4 Comments

DSCN7345When the alarm goes off in the morning, it takes a few minutes for my groggy brain to wake up.  By the time I crowbar myself out of bed, thoughts start popping up in my mind:

Wow, is night time over already? 

Do I really have to go walking this morning?

How can I get my kids to do their chores?

I can’t believe he said that yesterday.

Eyes still half closed, I grope down the hall to the kitchen and the possibility of coffee.  The voices of the world are already sneaking up on me: yesterday’s to-do list half undone, my dentist appointment in the afternoon. Why is it that these thoughts come crowding in all by themselves, yet it takes a decision of the will to open myself to God’s thoughts?

Have you ever noticed how your first thoughts in the morning set the tone for your day? You carry them with you. That’s why you need God and His word to renew your mind every morning. God’s voice seems somehow quieter, harder to hear than the world’s voice, but it carries power. He says,

You are not alone.

Do not fear, for I am with you.

I will strengthen you and help you

I am in control. I have a plan for you.

I love you.

Psalm 118 says, “And when I wake up, you are still with me!” God’s already there waiting for me when I wake up, so how do I open myself up to hear His gentle, quiet voice?

On her blog, A Holy Experience, Ann Voskamp suggests a beautiful way to start the day: reciting memorized scripture as you get up out of bed.  I’m just not there yet. My brain can’t focus enough to repeat verses I’ve memorized on the slow walk to the kitchen. Instead I’m thinking about our worn out living room chairs and wondering if there’s any coffee left in the freezer.

So I’ve made a smaller, baby step decision. When I wake up, before getting out of bed, I say good morning to God. I whisper, “Good morning, God. Fill me with your Holy Spirit today. Empower me to live for you.” I want to start my day by saying, “I’m here God.”

C.S. Lewis says that when you wake up “all your wishes and hopes for the day rush at you like wild animals. And the first job each morning consists simply in shoving them back; in listening to the other voice.”

Can you relate?

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

4 thoughts on “Getting up on the Right Side of the Bed

  1. I am so NOT a morning person that I think this would be a great way for me to get up in a better frame of mind and soul! I’m pretty sure the only scripture that would spring to mind in those first groggy, grumpy moments is, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Still, I’m not sure even that would get me up these days! Now that school has started up, I’m hoping to start moving my alarm back a few minutes at a time so I can take back the quiet morning hours like so many people keep going on and on about. 🙂 I can do all things…right? 😉

    • I’m a morning person myself–my brain is fried every night by 9:30 p.m.– but this summer I’ve been sleeping in a bit, and need your same strategy of setting the old alarm back. And yes, I’m sure you can “do all things!” 🙂

  2. thanks for the reminder to begin each day well. it’s all too easy for me to get caught up in a frenetic mode of morning activity, but i need the reminder to wake with an intentionality to be still and know that He is God. after all, it’s the day He made – i guess it would be good to hear what He has to say about it before i try to begin living it…

Leave a Comment

