Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

Swedish Apple Pie

5 Comments

DSCN7861If you’re like me, cooking can give you a martyr complex faster than anything else, especially if you count up the hours you spend in the kitchen each week. At the same time, preparing meals is a tangible way of blessing your family and friends. Whether you heat up a frozen pizza or cook up some comfort food, you’re serving up love on a plate. Cooking is a ministry, even though we rarely see it that way.

Last week God gave me a little nudge about going the extra mile in the kitchen from time to time. Simple gestures can make meals more memorable: lighting a candle, fixing someone’s favorite meal, or making dessert for no reason at all, just to bless my family.  Nothing puts a smile on their faces like finding out we have dessert and company’s not even coming.

Swedish apple pie an easy dessert that’s do-able on week nights. It’s like an apple cobbler, and my family loves it. If you don’t have time to make dessert AND dinner on the same night, make it on a night you’re having frozen pizza! Your kids won’t care, believe me.

 Swedish Apple Pie

Apple Filling:

6-7 large apples peeled and chopped

1/3 – ½  cup sugar (depending on how sweet you like things)

½ tsp. cinnamon

Dough:

1 cup flour

¾ cup sugar

½ cup softened butter or margarine

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

½ tsp. cinnamon

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 Mix the apples with the sugar and cinnamon and put in a 9” deep pie dish. Mix the remaining ingredients. The dough will be fairly thick. Drop it by the spoonful over the apples, and it will spread out while baking.

DSCN7845

Bake for 35-40 minutes. Let it cool for at least a half an hour before serving.  Enjoy!

Note: As the holiday season approaches, I’m embracing a “less is more” philosophy and trying to cut some clutter and stress from my life, so that I can stay sane and happy. 🙂  So I’ll be posting just once a week on Wednesdays until January.  Next week will be the last post in a series on Simple Spiritual Disciplines that I’ve been writing on Thursdays.
Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

5 thoughts on “Swedish Apple Pie

  1. Yum! Too bad my husband doesn’t like cooked apples. 🙂 Anna taught me how to make this and it is delicious and so easy!

  2. I added raisins because I too don’t like cooked apples that much. We’ll see. It’s cooking now for the Brentwood Elementary School Luncheon at Hope on Tuesday.

  3. Pingback: Swedish Apple Pie | Photos, Cooking and Crafts

Leave a Comment

