Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

Crunchy Winter Salad (Spring’s Around the Corner!)

11 Comments

DSCN8571In our Middle Eastern country produce is strictly seasonal, so by now I feel like I’m going to cry if I see another apple, orange or banana, and I’m thoroughly tired of salads with tasteless tomatoes and soggy cucumbers. This delicious, crunchy mix appeared like a salad epiphany of sorts when my friend Bahar had our family over for dinner recently.

When my husband and I commented on how much we liked the salad, she said, “I’ve been eating this all winter. I love it. Isn’t it great to enjoy winter produce? ” I thought, “So simple. Why didn’t I think of this?” Bahar said she eats a bowl of this salad to start off dinner most evenings, so she’s less hungry for the main dish. I thought, “Hmm, that’s why she’s fifteen pounds thinner than I am.” 🙂

So now that we’ve come to the tail end of winter, here’s something delicious to munch on while we hang in there waiting for spring. It’s just around the corner!

Crunchy Winter Salad

4-5 cups of lettuce, shredded or cut fine
1 cup grated purple cabbage
1 cup finely chopped cauliflower
1 heaping cup finely grated carrot
2-4 TBSP coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans (depending on how nutty you like things)

A food processor works well to grate the cabbage and carrot, but I prefer grabbing the old fashioned grater for easier clean-up. Toss the fresh ingredients, and sprinkle walnuts or pecans on top. We like oil and balsamic vinegar for dressing. Leftovers keep fresh in the fridge until the next day.

Salad Dressings

Living overseas, we’ve lost our taste for bottled salad dressings, so here are two natural alternatives to oil and vinegar that are easy to mix up:

Creamy Yogurt Dressing

¼ – 1/3  cup yogurt
¼ cup mayonnaise
½ tsp. mustard
1 tsp. sugar
1/8 tsp. salt
Dash of pepper

 Asian Style Dressing

¼ cup soy sauce
¼ cup olive oil
1 tsp. balsamic vinegar
1 tsp. sugar
½ tsp. sesame oil

So here’s my current favorite salad, which my kids have actually started to complain about since I’ve served it every night for two weeks. (I do have a compulsive tendency to go overboard.) What’s your favorite?

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

11 thoughts on “Crunchy Winter Salad (Spring’s Around the Corner!)

  1. That sounds wonderful. Can hardly wait to make it.

  2. I prefer to have a variety of salads rather than the same one or two all the time, so I appreciate your new recipe! Also I like to make my salad dressings from scratch so I’ll add your recipes to my collection. You are very special and I pray for you each morning. 🙂
    Linda

  3. That salad looks scrumptious, but I’m especially glad to get the new salad dressing recipes. Thanks for publishing these, Betsy!

  4. Sounds delicious! I love the idea of the cauliflower and nuts- I love salad with a super-crunchy texture. Can’t wait to try it!

  5. Mmmm. Simple and yum! I have a new dressing I’m putting on everything these days – especially salads and drizzled over fresh bread. It’s from the book Bread & Wine, and is so simple it’s hardly a “recipe.”

    1/2 cup olive oil
    1/4 cup balsalmic vinegar
    1 Tablespoon mustard (I use dijon)
    pinch of salt and pepper

    Shake really well, and it will stay combined, which is great since I’ve never been a fan of the oil from the top spilling out first. Bleagh.

  6. Even looking at this picture makes me think of warmer weather – it’s just around the corner! Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
    Thanks so much for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

Leave a Comment

