Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

Perseverance: Ninth Time’s a Charm!

5 Comments

DSCN8633 - Copy

Winter’s almost over, and I still haven’t knitted a scarf, but when I grab a pair of knitting needles, I feel like I have two left hands. Since the time my grandma first taught me, I’ve learned how to knit eight different times. Each time I give up, and when I start again several years later, my two left hands have to learn all over again. So I’m going out today to buy some yarn and get started because this was on my winter bucket list. I’m hoping the ninth time’s going to be the charm.

Of course knitting a scarf is not going to make or break me in the scheme of life, but I have other more important goals, like learning to write, helping my husband pastor a small church, and helping my kids grow into responsible adults who discover God’s call on their lives.

Our most important goals and projects take more time and effort than we think they will. They involve sweat and unglamorous work, day in day out. It takes persistence to learn to play the piano, or to start a new ministry or home business. Sometimes we’re tempted to lay our dreams aside because we’re daunted by the daily grind.

Do you have any God-sized dreams or projects? Do you ever get discouraged and feel like quitting? I know several women who persevered:

  • Herenia dreamed of converting her hobby, cooking and baking, into a business. Nineteen years ago, she opened a pastry shop, worked day and night, and almost went bankrupt the first year. She pressed on to become a successful business woman who oversees five restaurant cafes.
  • Lisa persevered raising three kids after her husband walked out on her twelve years ago. Amazingly, she even home schools. She writes on single parenting at Susanna’s Apron.
  • Filiz is a single mom who is on the brink of reaching a milestone: two degrees in six years of part-time study while working full-time.

Thomas Edison’s quote: “Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration” encourages me.  So does Malcolm Gladwell’s book Outliers. He maintains that what sets world-class experts in any field apart from the rest of us are ten thousand hours of practice. Granted, few of us are geniuses who will reach the world-class expert level, but I like to think that the difference between those who achieve their dreams and those who don’t is practice, hard work, and a refusal to give up.

Galatians 6:9 gives a good word about walking forward towards our dreams: So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.”

Do you have a dream or project that looks impossible? Keep going! Your world needs what you have to offer. How about taking five minutes today to brainstorm your next baby step? Leave a comment to tell us about your dream or project.

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

5 thoughts on “Perseverance: Ninth Time’s a Charm!

  1. It is my desire to write a book with my husband about the amazing blessings that we received from walking closely with God through my husband’s illness. I set a goal a few months back to have an outline for each chapter by September 2014. As I have been getting my blog started and learning the process of writing, this has definitely been on the back burner. You have encouraged me, Betsy, to turn up the heat a little and start moving forward on this. First baby step–PRAYER…that the Lord will give me the clarity in the message and layout. Thanks for the motivation to get moving and for the encouraging word from the Lord!

    • Are you going to use blog posts to work towards that, Sabra? I’ve been intrigued by some of the Proverbs 31 women who do that. Thinking of it m yself. That’s a wonderful and important goal you have! And getting your blog up is a great accomplishment!

      • Actually, no. When my we were in the middle of his health crisis, I wrote many emails and journaled on CaringBridge. I saved all of those, so they will be my inspiration. It will be a process. My husband doesn’t remember so much of it. And we want to write this book together about how the Lord has blessed our marriage in the midst of it as well. Still trying to figure it all out.

  2. Thanks for your encouragement in this post to persevere in our dreams. It is very difficult sometimes not to become discouraged in life. Giving up on dreams is easier than to keep working through difficulties. One thing that helps me keep going when I want to take the easy route and just give up on something I’m tired and discouraged from working on is to imagine Jesus as my partner in the project. That thought gives me strength and encouragement.

Leave a Comment

