Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

Yummy Italian Chicken Bake

9 Comments

Italian Chicken bakeOkay, I’m not gonna lie. I really call this Chicken Parmesan, but the funny thing is there’s no parmesan in it since we live in Turkey, where said cheese is hard to find. I threw this together a few months ago on a whim, and it’s become one of our new family favorites, good for company too. (You could probably add ¼ cup of parmesan to your sauce for extra zing.)

Ingredients:

4-5 LARGE chicken breasts (don’t try using scrawny, little ones; they’ll end up overcooked, tough, and miserable to eat.)

1 ½ cups grated mozzarella cheese

½ large onion, diced

3 large cloves garlic, minced

1-2 TBSP olive oil (plus more for browning chicken)

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp basil

½ tsp oregano

½ tsp salt

24 oz. plain tomato sauce

5 TBSP cooking wine

Step 1: the Sauce**

Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil. When it’s translucent, add the sugar, salt, and seasonings. Stir a minute or two; then add the cooking wine and tomato sauce. Bring to a simmer.

Step 2: the Chicken

Slice each chicken breast horizontally into two flat, even cuts.  Heat up additional olive in a heavy non-stick skillet, and brown the chicken pieces on medium high heat, for two minutes on each side.

Place the chicken breasts in a single layer in an oven-proof dish. Pour the warm sauce over them, and sprinkle with cheese.

Bake at 375° for 25 minutes. The cheese ends up toasty on top. You could also wait to sprinkle it on for the last 15 minutes of baking if you prefer it less browned..  Serve with rice or pasta. (Serves 6 people)

**In a pinch, you could use a ready-made marinara sauce instead, and maybe jazz it up with some cooking wine. We like slow cooking at our house, which is a good thing since it’s actually the only kind of cooking around in our little corner of the world, where convenience foods hardly exist.

What’s your favorite “go-to” main dish?

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

9 thoughts on “Yummy Italian Chicken Bake

  1. himm bunu hemen deneyelim! begendim 🙂

  2. My favorite “go to” main dish is stir fry over rice. With one teen who hates vegetables and another who is a vegetarian, I can prepare something all three of us like. I stir fry the beef or chicken separately from the veggies. I keep them separate over rice for the kids and put them together for myself. It’s easy and FAST!

  3. Looks delicious! I love how you did the blog title too!

  4. This looks like something my family would love! Will try it soon, Betsy. Thank you for sharing it! My go to dish? Would probably be my lasagna. Simple and delicious.

    • I love lasagna too, Julie, especially with no-boil noodles. But I made it SO OFTEN we kind of got sick of it! It’s been a long time now though, I should make it again! Great “go to” dish.

  5. Betsy,
    Came over from Compel. Thanks for sharing! I like the look, and the blue checked tablecloth is perfect under the white plate. Have not yet started a blog, as I’m a bit overwhelmed with the technology side of it.

Leave a Comment

