Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

More Than All We Ask or Imagine

13 Comments

more than all we ask

Have you ever faced an obstacle so insurmountable that it made your heart melt? Or maybe you have a dream or goal that looks so impossible that fear keeps you from taking the first step.

As my family and I reach the end of a stateside road trip from Texas to Washington D.C. and South Carolina, my heart is thumping. . Tomorrow morning I’ll go to She Speaks, a conference in North Carolina for Christian writers. I’m super excited, but I’m scared to death! (What’s a homeschooling mommy blogger like me doing at a big Christian writers’ conference like She Speaks?)

Next Tuesday we return to Turkey, and several more mountains loom large in front of me:

  • An incredibly busy August awaits me after an incredibly busy summer. Where will strength come from?
  • My son’s heart is set on Georgetown University in Washington DC. We will go for it and support him during the demanding application process. Does he stand a chance?
  • We just learned that my husband needs to make a trip back to the United States in November. Where will the money for this unplanned trip come from?

Despite the challenges in front of me, these words echo in my ears: “More than all we ask or imagine.” Yesterday during my morning time with God, these words from Ephesians 3 came to mind. And in the afternoon as I saw the same words etched on the front of a church building: “More than all we ask or imagine.”

When I saw those words on the side of that building, I knew it was God. All I could say was, “Okay, Lord, I get it.”

If you’re in the same shoes today, looking at overwhelming obstacles, remember that God can do immeasurably more than all you can ask or imagine. God can provide for your financial needs. God can rescue your marriage. He can change your children’s hearts. God can open any door, whether it’s to a new job or an incredibly selective university. He can bring joy and renewal to the weariest heart.  God has more resources and more power than you can imagine.

What’s the biggest obstacle you’re facing today?

Keep your eyes fixed on Him today, friend. Dare to believe. Cling to His Word. Just take the next step in front of you. Smile. God will give you the strength and grace you need for today. Remember, he can do MORE than all you can ask or imagine.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine,

according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church

and in Christ Jesusthroughout all generations,

for ever and ever! Amen.”

Ephesians 3:20, 21

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

13 thoughts on “More Than All We Ask or Imagine

  1. Intelligent, articulate women belong at writer’s conferences. That’s why you are going.

  2. Betsy, it is hard to believe that your time is the states is almost complete. That makes me sad. Knowing you are closer to Austin now seems lots better but going “home” is always good.
    You are an awesome writer and will certainly not be out of place.
    Andres is a very bright young man and your schooling will be adequate for him to go wherever.
    That scripture says it all and I add BUT GOD!
    Love you and needed your words today also.

  3. Isn’t it amazing that what God call us to, he provides for our every need?! So excited for you, Betsy. Wish I could be there with you and all our other Compel friends. Praying God to do a mighty work at this conference and in the hearts of you and all my other sisters–for His glory. You’re right where you need to be!

  4. Thanks so much, Sabra! I’ve missed you, was just thinking of you and hoping to pop over to your blog later.

  5. Betsy, you are such a talented writer! I hope you’ll update everyone through your blog about the conference and how well you did there.
    I am confident that God provides more than all we ask or imagine, but sometimes I believe He is saving most of it for the next life, not this one! Yet He always does provide for everything I need and carries me through every crisis.

  6. You’re a Christian, you’re a writer, you’re a she — how could you NOT belong at a Christian writer’s conference called She Speaks? 🙂 Thanks for sharing these encouraging words from Scripture, reminding us that God is so much greater and stronger than the challenges we may face.

  7. You are a very talented writer, Betsy. I hope you will update us with how well the conference went!
    I know that God can do more than all I ask or imagine. But He doesn’t always give me what I ask for. I have to persevere and remember that He knows what is best for me better than I do. But when it comes to getting me through every day and every crisis, He always takes care of me.

    • The conference was amazing, Deborah! Yes, it’s true that He doesn’t always give us what we ask for. But He gives more. (Sometimes the more is different than we expected maybe?) I know what you mean. It can be hard to trust when we don’t see answers. 🙂

  8. Thank you for this…as our wait for our adoption referral is at the 7 month mark and I wonder if it will take years I needed to hear this. As we start to work on my son’s application, transcription to the ONE school he wants to go to I understand some of those feelings. As we start our new school year rather than traveling to the USA this year…questions swirl. Thank you for sharing and encouraging me. Fauche.

Leave a Comment

