Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

Hope When You Need to Know God Loves You

11 Comments

The trials we face can cause us to forget or doubt God's love. Here's encouragement for growing our roots down deep into His love.

“Do you love me, God? I mean really, if you loved me, how could this be happening?”

Have you ever asked that question?

I was 28 when I asked it for the first time. I was young, yet unable to walk. Swollen, sore joints all over my body made it hard to lift a book or make a sandwich.  Even dressing myself was a challenge. The doctor said I had Rheumatoid Arthritis. I faced the possibility of living the rest of my life disabled and sick.

One day I hit rock bottom. I cried out to God, “I know you love me, but I just can’t believe it. If you do love me, please show me a sign.”

Later that day I got a call from the college pastor I worked with. He said that he, his wife, and twenty of our students were fasting and praying for me. I recognized God’s answer to my prayer. If twenty of His people were fasting because I was sick, He must love me.

The Lord actually healed me months later, but something changed inside me that day. I still hurt all over, but I believed God loved me. Hadn’t he taken the trouble to answer my faithless prayer?

Friend, I don’t know what challenges you face today, but I do know God loves you.

Will you follow this link to join me over at SweettotheSoul.com? I’m sharing about how to deal with doubt and how to grow our roots down deeper into God’s love.

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to get fresh servings of Faith Spilling Over delivered to your inbox. Enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I’m linking up with Arabah Joy’s Grace & Truth,  Susan B. Mead’s Dance with Jesus, and Deb Wolf’s Faith ‘N Friends.

Photo Credit: Melika

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

11 thoughts on “Hope When You Need to Know God Loves You

  1. It can be so hard when we are in pain of any kind to believe He is a good and loving God… But hearing stories of those who persevere through trials is so encouraging. Thank you for your words here! Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

  2. I had no idea that this was part of your story. Heading over to read the rest!

  3. Hi! Coming to you from Truth and Grace. I see your face and you welcome me in – I just HAVE to visit. Your posts have never disappointed and always encouraged. He set my feet on a path of questioning Him and in the answers I found Him and a great, great desire to know Him – really know Him! Thanks for sharing. Yes! my sister. He’s still in the healing business. Coming to you from a yielded heart – http://www.christinemalkemes.com

    • Oh thank you Christine! God IS still very much in the healing business! He doesn’t always do it physically, but He can, and it’s marvelous when He does! I’ll take spiritual healing too, any day. 🙂

  4. Such beautiful encouragement here, Betsy. What an amazing story of healing. I must admit to asking God that question about His love many times. I know better. He’s shown me again and again, but it’s so easy to get caught back there. Thank you for this important reminder today! (I tried to leave this comment over there but it gave me an error for some reason.)

  5. Hi Betsy! I love testimonies of how the Lord changes our hearts before our circumstances (if he changes our circumstances at all). Visiting from Faith and Friends

  6. I’ve been finding those times of pain or illness to be the biggest challenges. Thanks for speaking to me on this glorious Sunday afternoon, Betsy. He uses your words … please know that …

Leave a Comment

