Faith Spilling Over… Into Everyday Life

The Best Way to Treasure God’s Word

49 Comments

What better way to treasure God’s words than to memorize them. Just 2 verses a month add up to 24 verses a year. That's a powerful deposit of treasure into our hearts.

What comes to your mind when you hear “Scripture Memory?” Do you roll your eyes and groan? Maybe the last thing you need is one more item to add to your “Good Bible Study Girl” To-Do list. I don’t mean to take a flippant attitude toward God’s Word, but sometimes we have thoughts like this, don’t we?

When it comes to memorizing scripture, many of us have been there and done that. We remember reciting our verses in Sunday school to get the candy. Some of us gave up on scripture memory a long time ago because we can’t remember our phone number, much less memorize a Bible verse! Yet memorizing God’s Word is one of the most important things we can do to grow our faith.

I definitely don’t need one more box to check off of any list, but sometimes I do need something better to think about than my own whining thoughts.  I need a way to take God’s Word with me when I go out into the world.  I need weapons to fight against the lies and discouragement that Satan throws my way. That’s why I’m going back to scripture memory.

Memorizing Scripture is a Life-Giving Discipline.

What better way to treasure God's Word Than to Memorize scripture

Memorization is a practical way to store scripture in our hearts, treasure it, and keep it close. God’s Word grows our faith and strengthens us in the battle against sin.

Committing God’s Word to memory brings rich rewards:

  • It helps transform our thoughts and renew our minds.
  • We grow closer to God as we hide His Word in our hearts.
  • God’s word empowers us and gives us wisdom.
  • Scripture is our weapon against the lies and attacks of the enemy.
  • It gives us encouragement and hope to share with others.

How to Get Started:

Keep a running list of encouraging, helpful, or challenging verses as you find them in your daily Bible reading or hear them in church. You’ll have a list to choose from when you want to start memorizing.

You’ll need something to write on. Index cards are great because you can slip them into your pocket while you’re on the go. I like to keep my verses in a little handy green notebook that fits in my purse. My friend Ellen Chauvin uses a spiral index card notebook that she can flip through and prop open. Use something small and portable, so you can take your verse out and read it during the day.

Getting Down to the Work of Memorization

  1. Read your verse 5 times out loud.
  2. Write it down.
  3. Try to say it 5 times from memory.
  4. The next day, read it 5 times, and say it from memory 5 times.
  5. Work on the same verse one or two weeks.
  6. When you start a new verse, review the last one several times a week.
  7. Once a week, review 3-5 old verses.

What better way to treasure God’s words than to memorize them? Scripture memory yields great rewards, but it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Keep it simple. How about starting this week with just one verse? Two verses a month add up to 24 verses a year, and that’s a powerful deposit of treasure into our hearts and minds.

What better way to treasure God’s words than to memorize them. Just 2 verses a month add up to 24 verses a year, and that's a powerful deposit of treasure into our hearts.

Now it’s your turn: Does the thought of memorizing scripture overwhelm you or encourage you? What has your experience been?

Did you enjoy this post? You can subscribe to get fresh servings of Faith Spilling Over delivered to your inbox. Enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I’m linking up with Holly Barrett’s Testimony TuesdayKelly Balarie’s #RaRaLinkup, Tuesday Talk with Ruthie Gray,  Jennifer Dukes Lee’s #TellHisStoryHolley Gerth’s Coffee for Your Heart, and Lyli Dunbar’s Thought-Provoking Thursday.  Arabah Joy’s Grace and Truth, and Susan B. Mead’s #DancewithJesus. Check out these communities for more encouragement.

 

Author: betsydecruz

I want to enjoy the everyday life God is giving me as best I can, even when the road gets bumpy. I love having fun with my teenagers, learning almost anything, and drinking dark roast coffee with my friends.

49 thoughts on “The Best Way to Treasure God’s Word

  1. Hi Betsy, these days I do write them down for easier reference and I also highlight a lot too!
    Thanks for the encouragement to commit scriptures to memory.
    Hugs and Blessings to you

  2. I like the idea of keeping a running list of good verses so you have some to choose from. Great idea! Thanks, Betsy 🙂

  3. I love this! I need to commit to memorizing God’s Word, not just because of my mind, but because of my heart.

  4. I’m terrible at memorizing but these are great points on why it’s’ a good practice. I have started a verse box, writing down on index cards verses I come across that relate to my one-word this year, so I’ll have a box of verses to flip through as I need them to stay grounded through the year. Love the idea to commit them to memory, too.

  5. I’m pretty bad at it… I can get the gist and a few key words, but the rest get sort of jumbled. But, I love the pretty scripture art ring I created to hang on my purse. I wrote a tutorial on Jana’s site for it. Hope you don’t mind me sharing the link… I guess you can deny the comment. 😉 Blessings, friend!
    http://www.sweettothesoul.com/blog/2016/01/08/soul-deep-scripture-cards

    • No, I thought that was a great idea, Liz, thanks so much for sharing it! (And now I know who “blog8628” is. Yippeee! Appreciate you friend. (I’m not that great at memory work either. I can memorize, but then it goes out the window in about 7 minutes. I have to review constantly. A ring like you say is a great idea!)

  6. It is so hard for me to memorize scripture, but like you stated, it is so important! Writing it out works best for me. Something that might work for others is to walk while reading the verse. This helps a lot for memorizing facts for homework. Thanks for sharing the post

  7. Yes the thought of memorizing scripture overwhelms me. I have tried it before and for whatever reasons I have not stuck with it. Your breakdown of the benefits of memorizing scripture are a good starting point for remembering that God can be found in His word. When we know His word, we know Him too. That is a prefect reason if you ask me. I have noticed because I am more intentional in how I study God’s word I am getting better at remembering scripture references and even specific verses from time to time. Choosing to learn God’s word in this way has been beneficial for me. Thank you for your insight, Betsy.

  8. Hi, Betsy. I need to get back to scripture memory, too. I was faithful for a couple of years, and I have to say those verses stay with me and the Lord brings them to my mind often. Even if I don’t remember the exact words, I know where I can find them in the Bible and I can share God’s heart with others.

    One great online tool I’ve used is ScriptureTyper.com. It’s wonderful for those typists out there, because you can learn while you type the scripture. But even if you’re not a typist, it is a great place to keep track of verses you’re memorizing. It’s free. So you just open an account and every time you go in, your verses are right there in a list where you can pull each one up in the version of your choice.

    Thanks for the encouragement to get back to it. Even just 5-10 minutes a day can have a powerful impact on our lives!

    • Thanks for the tip about ScriptureTyper, Sabra. I’ve heard of it, but never tried it. I was working on scripture memory for several years (for the first time really), but last year, I let it slide. Trying to take baby steps to get back to it this year.

  9. I am learning the importance of scripture memory Betsy. I initially started it because while I was in the hospital recovering from the stroke, I could not even remember all of Psalm 23. I said to myself, if i ever get out of here, I’m going to learn the whole passage! As I begin to set a a consistent daily bible reading, I would come across a verse that spoke to me. I would write it out and stick it the front of my bible and read it it each day during my quiet time. Over time once I have it memorized, I write out the next verse or passage and repeat. it has helped both spiritually and helps my brain in recovering from the traumatic injury. Thank you for these wonderful reminders of why we need to hide and treasure God’s word in our hearts. Have a wonderful week and may God continue to richly bless you and yours!

    • Thank you, Horace. I think you’re right about how memorizing God’s Word has important spiritual AND MENTAL benefits. May the Lord bless your recovery from your stroke. You are more than a conqueror!

  10. Betsy, I am a huge fan of index cards 🙂 My Bible is filled with them – I date them, including why I was memorizing the verse at that particular time. My children often tease me that I should have bought stock in index cards. But it truly works when memorizing Scripture. Blessings to you!

  11. As you know, I’m memorizing scripture too, Betsy. It’s like ammunition for the battle! I’ve begun printing my #ScriptureBank2016 verses onto 8.5×11 paper, slipping them into a sleeve/binder, then flipping through it daily. I read them every day (well, weekdays), and write the current one as well as the past two verses each weekday. It seems to be working. Love this post of yours. In fact, I’m going to pin it on my Scripture Memorization Pinterest board. Good guidance!

  12. I remember memorizing the book of James (in the KJV) when I was young. If I really think about it, some of the verses come right back to me. It’s been a LONG time since I’ve done any Scripture memory, yet I do see the benefits. I really like your tips.

  13. Like you, I memorized scripture as a child. One scripture memorization was Psalm 23. But, as an adult, it’s slipped by the wayside. But, you give some very good reasons why we should learn scripture by heart. And, Jesus is a good model especially because he used scripture when tempted.

    • That Psalm 23 comes out for me when I need it. In the hospital (when I’m the patient or else visiting someone who’s sick). At funeral parlors, in church, so many places where I need to know God’s with me.

  14. Scripture memory has been a life line for me — I have my dog-eared 3×5 cards that I carry around in my pocket. I’m not as disciplined about learning new passages right now, but am enjoying the process of review and meditation on the verses and chunks that need refreshing.
    This is a great motivational post, Betsy, because we all need to be more intentional about this.

    • Michele, that is a wonderful thing: enjoying the process of review. I may do that next. Such a good idea. We need to keep that treasure stored inside fresh and accessible.

  15. I love the idea of using a spiral index card notebook! That will be something I try. Thank you so much for the encouragement you offered today on memorizing scripture.

  16. I used to memorize scripture as a child, but have fallen out of practice since. I’m making it my goal this year to start doing it again … Knowing God’s word is such an important part of our walk and journey with Jesus. Thanks for the encouragement to keep working toward getting more of scripture into our hearts! ❤

  17. A agree that Scripture memory is an important discipline. I have found that songs that quote scripture are a perfect tool for this, because they are so much easier to remember. Thanks for your encouragement today.

  18. For several years I’ve kept a note file on my iPad called “Holy Spirit Whispers” – whenever a verse ministers to my heart or captures my attention I’ll copy it there. It’s proven to be such a source of truth and encouragement for myself, as well as a resource to share God’s word with others. These are verses that are sealed to my heart for various reasons and it’s such a joy to reflect on what God has done through His word. Thank you for sharing great insight with us, Betsy.

  19. Thanking God for my childhood and Godly mom and grandparents – I have hidden a lot of scriptures in my heart….it’s the addresses that always fail me! Glad we’re neighbors today!

  20. Verses I memorized as a little kid still linger on in King James English! The Spirit is faithful to bring them back again and again …

    • I know what you mean, Linda. I have a few verses in my mind from the King James, like “This is the day the Lord has made.” Just sounds better than the current NIV version! 🙂

  21. This is so true! I have always said verses out loud 5 times a day when I am memorizing. It really does help!

  22. Hey Betsy! Fortunately for me, if God wants me to know a verse He makes sure it shows up everywhere, lol. He is a good good Father who is always faithful to make sure I get what He is trying to tell me. Knowing His word allows me to know Him more, and always want more of Him. Blessings to you!

  23. Love these tips Betsy. i use most of them as I’m memorizing. The spiral cards index is great for having them to review so we don’t forget. Thanks for sharing.

  24. It is intentional, this memorizing – for me, it only sticks when I can apply it to what I am going through at the time. I used to think I didn’t know scripture until I was about 24 – and I had felt so far behind. Then I realized that most of the Catholic mass I had recited since I was little WAS scripture and through repetition, I had memorized it. I’ve memorized by turning a scripture into a melody that I sing – and that has helped. Writing has helped, too. Thank you for the additional tips. It is something I need to do more! Shalom, Betsy!

Leave a Comment

